header banner

a list of nations where bitcoin is prohibited

Table of Contents

    List of countries where cryptocurrency is banned: The debate over the legalization of cryptocurrencies started with the introduction of Bitcoin in 2009. While Bitcoin is the first decentralized cryptocurrency, several others have been introduced since then including Ethereum, Ripple and Dogecoin.

    The ever-increasing trend of investing in cryptocurrencies raised financial concerns for governments across the world, leading to a crypto ban. 

    According to a 2021 report from the Law Library of Congress, the number of countries to have issued cryptocurrency bans have increased significantly since 2018. Here's the list of countries that have banned cryptocurrencies. 

    1- Algeria

    Algeria introduced a law in 2018 which banned buying, selling or holding virtual currencies in the country. 

    2- Bangladesh

    Cryptocurrency trading is illegal in Bangladesh as it is against its financial regulations and laws. 

    3- Bolivia

    Since 2014, there's a ban on the usage of crypto in Bolivia. Any digital currency which is not regulated by the country or economic zone is illegal. 

    4- China

    China was among the first nations to impose a ban on digital currency. However, it has launched a centrally-regulated digital currency called Digital Renminbi (RMB).

    5- Colombia

    The financial institutions in Colombia are prohibited from protecting, investing, brokering, or managing cryptocurrency operations. 

    6- Egypt

    Bitcoin transactions were classified as haram by Dar al-Ifta in Egypt. It means that the use of crypto is prohibited under Islamic law. The religious decree was issued in 2018. 

    7- Indonesia

    Indonesia's central bank, Bank Indonesia, issued fresh regulation to ban the use of cryptocurrencies as a means of payment from 1 January 2018. 

    8- Morocco

    Morocco banned crypto trading in 2017 citing that transacting in virtual currencies was an infringement on forex regulations. 

    9- Nepal

    Nepal placed a ban on cryptocurrencies in August 2017. 

    10- Nigeria

    Nigeria imposed a ban on cryptocurrencies in February 2021 announcing that bank accounts using cryptocurrency exchanges will be closed. 

    11- Qatar

    In 2018, Qatar warned the banks to not deal with Bitcoin, exchange it with another currency, open an account to deal with it, or send or receive any money transfers to buy or sell this currency. 

    12- Turkey

    In April 2021, Turkey issued a regulation banning the use of cryptocurrencies, including Bitcoin. The following day, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan issued a decree that crypto exchanges to a list of firms subject to anti-money laundering and terrorism financing rules.

    13- Vietnam

    Issuance, supply and use of digital currencies are illegal in Vietnam and subject to fines ranging from 150 million VND (€5,600) to 200 million VND (€7,445).

    Also Read | List of cryptocurrencies in the world

    Public vs Private Cryptocurrency: How do cryptocurrencies work and what does the proposed Bill mean?


    Article information

    Author: Annette Hansen

    Last Updated: 1704483722

    Views: 911

    Rating: 4.7 / 5 (106 voted)

    Reviews: 92% of readers found this page helpful

    Author information

    Name: Annette Hansen

    Birthday: 1916-10-18

    Address: 113 Davis Ranch Suite 938, New David, LA 72813

    Phone: +3799975009163167

    Job: Archaeologist

    Hobby: Running, Gardening, Fishing, Skydiving, Ice Skating, Woodworking, Pottery

    Introduction: My name is Annette Hansen, I am a capable, cherished, valuable, exquisite, treasured, bold, important person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.